Eric Holder, who served in the Clinton Administration, had already demonstrated a dangerous degree of bias and disregard for the rule of law when he was nominated by Obama for the post of Attorney General.  His previous actions had already proven that his administration of the Department of Justice would be one of partisanship, blatant bias, heavy-handed enforcement of politically-motivated policies and disregard of criminal actions that did not fit the carefully crafted partisan narrative. In other words, he would be a committed hack for his boss, Barack Obama, not committed to Justice. His management of the illegal gun-running operation – the notorious “Fast and Furious” program -which was ostensibly intended to crack down on Mexican drug cartels, but stupidly, almost intentionally unable to track thousands of weapons, led to the murder of at least one U.S. federal agent, Border Patrol Agent Brian Terry, and possibly hundreds,  if not thousands of deaths in Mexico.
While no Democrat Senators voted to oppose the nomination (unsurprising in the least), what was most disappointing were the 19 Republican Senators who voted to confirm Barack Obama’s nomination of Eric Holder for Attorney General in 2009. The full list of those Senators is included below. Bold type indicates that the Senator continues to hold office in the Senate, and the date following their name indicates the year in which their term is up for re-election. Senators already out of office are marked with an “X”.
Eric Holder has agreed to stay on as Attorney General for Obama’s second term. The Senators listed below have his thanks. The question of whether or not they should face primary challenges is moot. Most of them have been challenged since 2008. Either in 2010 or 2012, dedicated patriots have risen to the challenge of unseating an incumbent, compromised  Senator. There have been some victories (Bennett and Specter were both successfully primaried), but there is work yet to do.
  1. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) 2014
  2. Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga) 2014
  3. Susan Collins (R-ME) 2014
  4. Lindsey Graham (R-SC) 2014
  5. Jeff Sessions (R-AL) 2014
  6. Chuck Grassley (R-IA) 2016
  7. Johnny Isakson (R-GA) 2016
  8. John McCain (R-AZ) 2016
  9. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) 2016
  10. Bob Corker (R-TN) 2018
  11. Orrin Hatch (R-UT) 2018
  12. Bob Bennett (R-UT) X
  13. Kit Bond (R-MO) X
  14. Judd Gregg (R-NH) X
  15. John Kyl (R-AZ) X
  16. Dick Lugar (R-IN) X
  17. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) X
  18. Arlen Specter (R-PA) X
  19. John Voinovich (R-OH) X

*UPDATE – On 1/17/13, Eric Holder gave a speech during the meeting of the U.S. Conference of Mayors, in which he stressed the importance of  implementation of strong penalties for gun crimes, and actually had the audacity to say “We Need ‘Tough Penalties on Gun Traffickers who Help Funnel Weapons to Dangerous Criminals.” The Attorney General addressed Gun Control, in light of the President’s announcement Wednesday on his plan to curb gun violence. He was introduced by Houston Mayor, and Chair of the Standing Committee on Criminal and Social Justice, Annise Parker. The depth of hypocrisy of the Obama Department of Justice, exemplified by a hack like Holder is mind-numbing and chilling. See the video of the speech here.


*UPDATE – 1/25/2013 – Senator Saxby Chambliss of Georgia will announce that he is retiring and will not seek a third term in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s